United Kingdom Sacred Harp & Shapenote Singing
Front row altosFront row treblesHugh McGraw with the tenor line at DerbySophie MacDougall at Letchworth 2004Front row tenorsFront row basses and altos
Home Calendar All Conventions All-day singings Resources Contacts Europe Aus/NZ

Gwehelog Chapel








2002 2003





not held


Llanfair Kilgeddin

Gwehelog Chapel
2010 2011
2012 2013 
2014 2015
2016 2017

Gwehelog Methodist Chapel
Seventeenth Gwehelog Sacred Harp Singing Day
Gwehelog Chapel
Sîr Fynwy/Monmouthshire,
Saturday, 16 July 2016

The 17th annual Gwehelog All-Day Sacred Harp singing was called to order by Leila Gamaz and Ellen Southern leading 101t. Ellen Southern offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were appointed: Co-Chairmen—Leila Gamaz and Ellen Southern; Secretaries—Phil Owen and Sarah West; Arranging Committee—Sam Cole and Crispin Walker.

Leaders: Sarah West 35; Matthew Parkinson 37b; Rachel Wemyss 354t; Crispin Walker 39t; Barry Parsons 108t; Marcos Sullivan 40; Erin Johnson-Williams 388; Phil Owen 32b; Kate Kirwan 52t; Judy Whiting 77b; Joe Vickers 43; Steve Brett 389; Theresa Maguire 106; Bridget McVernon 56t; Michael Walker 134; Ed Johnson-Williams 201; Chris Brown 108b; Kate Kirwan 61; Crispin Walker 277; Joe Vickers 497.


Leilai Immel called the class to order leading 290. Leaders: Steve Brett 540; Judy Whiting 466; Barry Parsons 171; Helen Brown 208; Bridget McVernon 480; Theresa Maguire 65; Margaret Gillanders 564; Marcos Sullivan 344; Phil Owen 203.

Bridget McVernon conducted the memorial lesson, and read the names of the following recently deceased: Charlie Derleth, Bernice Harvey, Tom Robinson, Eileen McDougall, Ian Whiting, Michael Spittal, Eileen Wilson, Earlis McGraw, Oliver Kindig-Stokes, S.T. Reed, David Smith, and Norma Stevens.

She also spoke for the following sick and housebound: Karen Turner, Curtis Owen, Edith Owen, Johnny Lee, Delorese Lee, Norma Green, Ruth Steggles, Jean McDougall, Sister Pippa, Ian West, and Laura Densmore. Bridget led 390, and closed the lesson with a prayer.

Leaders: Erin Johnson-Williams 426t; Ted Brown 179; Sarah West 316; Ed Johnson-Williams 446; Rachel Wemyss 312b; Matthew Parkinson 309; Joe Vickers 475. Kate Kirwan offered the blessing for the midday meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by Crispin Walker leading 107. Leaders: Leilai Immel 101b; Chloë Somers 159; Michael Walker 454; Helen Brown 459; Chris Brown 426b; Leila Gamaz 505; Margaret Gillanders 500; Ed Johnson-Williams 189; Ted Brown 187; Judy Whiting 150; Joe Vickers 428; Erin Johnson-Williams 502; Marcos Sullivan 350; Sarah West 296; Barry Parsons 234; Caroline Ungoed-Thomas 274t; Bridget McVernon 183; Phil Owen 269.


Kate Kirwan called the class to order leading 373. Leaders: Matthew Parkinson 318; Joe Vickers 556; Judy Whiting 521; Ed Johnson-Williams 113; Caroline Ungoed-Thomas 162; Michael Walker 111b; Ted Brown 523; Rachel Wemyss 77t; Theresa Maguire 348t; Margaret Gillanders 391; Steve Brett 488; Helen Brown 138b; Chris Brown 38b; Chloë Somers 542; Crispin Walker 455; Michael Walker 322.

Leila Gamaz and Ellen Southern led 267 as the closing song. Matthew Parkinson offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Co-Chairmen—Leila Gamaz and Ellen Southern; Secretaries—Phil Owen and Sarah West


This Web Site has been set up for the United Kingdom Sacred Harp and Shapenote Community to provide a resource centre for singing in the United Kingdom. 

Any correspondence, helpful suggestions and contributions as to content, amendments, additions and new web links should be sent to