United Kingdom Sacred Harp & Shapenote Singing
Front row altosFront row treblesHugh McGraw with the tenor line at DerbySophie MacDougall at Letchworth 2004Front row tenorsFront row basses and altos
Home Calendar All Conventions All-day singings Resources Contacts Europe Aus/NZ
Jordans Village Hall

The First
Thanksgiving Singing Day
Jordans Village Hall
Saturday, 21 November 2009

The first Thanksgiving Singing Day was held in the Village Hall of Jordans, the Quaker Village, and burial place of William Penn. The class was called to order by Sheila Girling Macadam leading 34b and Revd David Chantler gave the opening prayer, with the class singing the first verse of 167.  Leaders: Edwin Macadam 84; Ken Baddley 49t; Steve Fletcher 48t; Rachel Jordan 47t; Shelby Sampson 284; Jacqui Selby-Macleod 70t; Bob Lilley 49b; Sofi Mogensen 31t; Nick Hall 147t; Michael Walker 182; Elspeth Hannen 146; Sheila Girling Macadam 171 (for Ted and Helen Brown); Pete Eiseman-Renyard 117; Ken Baddley 114; Rachel Jordan 99; Edwin Macadam 203; Shelby Sampson 297; Tony Singleton 300; Jacqui Selby-Macleod 312b; Bob Lilley 161; Nick Hall 528.


Sofi Mogensen brought the class back together leading 276. Leaders:  Pete Eiseman-Renyard 45t; Elspeth Hannen 504; Michael Walker 396; Steve Fletcher 448t; Sheila Girling Macadam 191; Edwin Macadam 272; Ken Baddley 192; Shelby Sampson 551; Jacqui Selby-Macleod 516; Rachel Jordan 501; Michael Walker 122.

Ken Baddley conducted the memorial lesson and led 28t in memory of Marie Holloway (Washington DC), Jack Walne, Alan Shelley, John Lowerson, Trevor Sanderson, David Lee, Ivy Hughes, Lew Lewis, Else Marie Christensen, Erik Mogensen, Joyce Thayer, Gladys Buchanan, Glynne Williams, Rose Adelaide Baker (Lowell, Mass.), Lesley Anderson, Alf Reeves-Easton, and Deirdre Powell. Martin Williams, assisted by John Taylor, gave the lesson for the following sick and housebound: Johanes Klee, John Plunkett, Kerry Bloom, Vicki Scarlet, Mel Browne, Jenny Reeves, Uncle Basil, Tom Hodgkinson, Paula Mogensen, Linda Reed, Pauline Fitzpatrick, Anne Milne, Tony Hannen, Ted Brown and Marc Zarowin, and Steve Fletcher led 384. The memorial was closed.

Leaders: Nick Hall 86; Bob Lilley 202; Sofi Mogensen 228; Pete Eiseman-Renyard 40; Tony Singleton 128; Elspeth Hannen 107. Michael Walker offered grace before lunch.


The afternoon session commenced with Sheila Girling Macadam leading 201.  Leaders: Edwin Macadam 472; Rachel Jordan 474; Shelby Sampson 189; Jacqui Selby-Macleod 39t; Bob Lilley 569b; Sofi Mogensen 299; Elspeth Hannen 65; Nick Hall 63; Steve Fletcher 218; Pete Eiseman-Renyard 334; Michael Walker 67; Tony Singleton 198; Edwin Macadam 492; Sheila Girling Macadam 168; Steve Fletcher 131t; Ken Baddley 121; Shelby Sampson 38b; Nick Hall 455; Elspeth Hannen 497; Jacqui Selby-Macleod 82t; Pete Eiseman-Renyard 496; Michael Walker 103; Bob Lilley 486; Rachel Jordan 269; Sofi Mogensen 148; Tony Singleton 277.


The class was reconvened for the final session with Sheila Girling Macadam 330b. Leaders: Shelby Sampson 183; Sofi Mogensen 278t; Bob Lilley 503; Tony Singleton 209; Jacqui Selby-Macleod 131b; Nick Hall 467; Michael Walker 320; Rachel Jordan 155; Steve Fletcher 106; Ken Baddley 535; Edwin Macadam 236.

Announcements were made and invitations extended to other Sacred Harp singing events around the country. After expenses had been met, the surplus from the day’s donations would be passed to the Quakers for their use. Sheila Girling Macadam and Edwin Macadam led 347 and Revd David Chantler gave the closing prayer.  The class was dismissed. Chairman – Sheila Girling Macadam; Vice-Chair – Edwin Macadam; Secretaries – Nick Hall and Sofi Mogensen; Pitchers – Rachel Jordan and Michael Walker; Arranging Committee – Steve Fletcher


This Web Site has been set up for the United Kingdom Sacred Harp and Shapenote Community in order to provide a resource centre for singing in the United Kingdom.  Any correspondence, helpful suggestions and contributions as to content, amendments, additions and new web links should be sent to      Contents of this website © 1998-2019 Edwin and Sheila Macadam, Oxford, United Kingdom.