United Kingdom Sacred Harp & Shapenote Singing
Front row altosFront row treblesHugh McGraw with the tenor line at DerbySophie MacDougall at Letchworth 2004Front row tenorsFront row basses and altos
Home Calendar All Conventions All-day singings Resources Contacts Europe Aus/NZ

Newcastle Minutes

2005   2006
2007   2008
2009   2010
2011   2012
2013   2014
2015   2016
2017   2018



Newcastle-upon-Tyne Sacred Harp Singing
St Bartholomew's Church Hall
Newcastle-upon-Tyne NE12 9NL
30 May 2015

The 11th annual Newcastle singing was called to order by Cath Tyler, who welcomed the class and led 47t.  Andrew Clark offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were appointed to serve: Chairman -- Cath Tyler; Secretary -- Colin Monson; Treasurer -- Phil Tyler; Arranging Committee -- Helen Barber and Benny Ross.

Leaders: Phil Tyler 108t; Benny Ross 501; Sally Grieves-Lord 34b; Colin Monson 42; Helen Barber 538; Mark Wardlaw 401; Andrew Clark 84; Lin James 85; Josh Darby 141; Raymond Rammeloo 354b; Jan Geerts 171; Richard Mayers 32b; Cath Saunt 314; Margaret Bradshaw 266; Kevin Kennedy 169; Amanda Parkes 512; Eva Striebeck 100; Sarah Hill 187; Judy Whiting 492; Barry Parsons 488.


Cath Tyler called the class back and led 128.  Leaders: Steve Brett 296; Kate Kirwan 396; Samantha Cole 270; Chris Brown 120; Geoff Grainger 535; Sandy Semeonoff 276; Anna Baldini 86; Cornelia van den Doel 300; Phil Tyler 477; Benny Ross 328; Sally Grieves-Lord 142; Colin Monson 65; Helen Barber and Caleb Leeke 143; Mark Wardlaw 196; Andrew Clark 49b; Lin James 148.

Cath Tyler conducted the memorial lesson and led 499 for Kate Davis -- Dublin; Mary Newell -- Dalton; Cyril Guy -- Llangybi; Raymond Hamrick -- Georgia, USA; Joyce Harrison -- Georgia, USA; Rose Manisalco -- Montclair, New Jersey, USA; Paul Rotton -- Wallsend; Billie Stadward -- Chippenham; Marko Van Der Horst -- Rotterdam, The Netherlands; Dave Eckersley -- Manchester; Bill Pritchard -- Bradford; Angela Ball -- Bradford; Roger Griffin -- Newcastle. Sally Grieves-Lord led 68b for the following sick and housebound: Kirsty Grainger, Wellington, New Zealand; John Hopkinson -- Haworth; Anne Lloyd-Davis -- Lancaster; Steve Harrison -- Huddersfield; Dave Kidman -- Yorkshire; Curtis and Edith Owen -- Lockhart, Texas, USA; Connor McDougall -- Rock; Dot Green -- Liverpool; Tom Foy -- Inverness; Geoffrey Morris -- Scarborough; Rojana Wings -- Bremen, Germany; Charmaine Phelps -- Newcastle; Sister Pippa -- Derby; Clare MacLaren -- Bradford; Susannah Gill -- London; Joe Jones -- London. Cath Tyler concluded with a prayer, then led 347 with Nick Nawrockyi.

Lin James gave thanks for the midday meal.


Phil Tyler called the class to order with 217.  Leaders: Josh Darby 56b; Ted Brown 422; Claire Welford 107; Margaret Gillanders 556; Carmen Gordon 209; Raymond Rammeloo 523; Eva Striebeck 411; Jan Geerts 384; Richard Mayers 294; Cath Saunt 299; Margaret Bradshaw 274t; Kevin Kennedy 408; Sarah Hill 439; Amanda Parkes 53; Judy Whiting 105; Sandy Semeonoff 33b; Barry Parsons 380; Steve Brett 530; Lin James 82t; Kate Kirwan 131t.


Mark Wardlaw called the class back with 390.  Leaders: Nigel Anderson 473; Anna Baldini and the children 146; Jo Ellis 268; Geoff Grainger 178; Chris Brown 498; Anna Baldini 117; Cornelia van den Doel 40; Cath Tyler 352; Ted Brown 426b; Claire Welford 282; Margaret Gillanders 354t; Andrew Clark 30t; Benny Ross 481; Sally Greaves-Lord 318; Colin Monson 159; Helen Barber 287; Josh Darby 335; Raymond Rammeloo 49t; Eva Striebeck 99; Jan Geerts 344; Richard Mayers 47b; Cath Saunt 228.

Cath Tyler extended thanks to all those who had helped during the day, and announcements were made.  Cath led 62 as the closing song.  The class was dismissed with prayer offered by Nick Nawrockyi.

Chairman -- Cath Tyler; Secretary -- Colin Monson




This Web Site has been set up for the United Kingdom Sacred Harp and Shapenote Community in order to provide a resource centre for singing in the United Kingdom.  Any correspondence, helpful suggestions and contributions as to content, amendments, additions and new web links should be sent to      Contents of this website 1998-2019 Edwin and Sheila Macadam, Oxford, United Kingdom.