United Kingdom Sacred Harp & Shapenote Singing
Front row altosFront row treblesHugh McGraw with the tenor line at DerbySophie MacDougall at Letchworth 2004Front row tenorsFront row basses and altos
Home Calendar U K Conventions All-day singings Europe & Israel Pacific Rim Resources Contacts

Convention History

United Kingdom Minutes



















United Kingdom Sacred Harp Convention

Henry Box School


8th and 9th September 2007

Saturday 8th September

The twelfth United Kingdom Sacred Harp Convention was called to order at 10am by Chairman Mandy Townsend leading 34b. Chaplain Ken Baddley offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Dave Townsend 155; Ken Baddley 49t; Anna Baldini 40; Steve Fletcher 48t; Steve Marini 192; Judy Whiting 171; James Percival 350; Sheila Girling Macadam 442; Tony Singleton  496; Emily Verrier 299; Bernard Collard 362; Phil Tyler 74b; Linda Reed 433; Edwin Macadam 148; Chris Brown 501; Rachel Jordan 474; Michael Walker 49b; Mick Verrier 107; Adrian Bolge 72b; Ruth Steggles 198; Nick Hall 494; Sarah Pinney 504.


The class was called to order by Cath Tyler leading 59.  Leaders: Richard Percival 38b; Matthew Bolge with Adrian Bolge 187; Harry Campbell 86; Mandy Townsend 318; Ken Baddley 300; Dave Townsend 45t; Steve Marini 455; Steve Fletcher 328; Judy Whiting 222; Sheila Girling Macadam 515; Tony Singleton 63; Bernard Collard 538; Phil Tyler 99; Linda Reed 83t; Edwin Macadam 280; Chris Brown 206; Rachel Jordan 528. Ken Baddley said grace before lunch.


The class resumed singing with Mick Verrier leading 217. Leaders: Adrian Bolge 147t; Ruth Steggles 447; Nick Hall 527; Sarah Pinney 376; Cath Tyler 47t; Harry Campbell 159; Roz Walker 315; Mandy Townsend 203; Steve Fletcher 106; Dave Townsend 551; Steve Marini 532; Ken Baddley 481; Judy Whiting 273; Tony Singleton 56b; Bernard Collard 454; Sheila Girling Macadam 142.


The class reassembled with Rachel Jordan leading 473. Leaders: Mick Verrier 95; Adrian Bolge 156; Roz Walker287; Nick Hall 497; Sarah Pinney 186; Edwin Macadam 183; Harry Campbell 268; Anna Baldini 178; Cath Tyler 470; Tony Singleton 117; Phil Tyler 76b; Linda Reed 404; Chris Brown 441; Ruth Steggles 30t. Steve Marini offered the closing prayer and the class was dismissed.

In the evening, an alternative singing took place, chaired by Dave Townsend, in which we sang a selection of recent and new shape-note pieces written by UK composers.


Sunday 9th September

Chairman Mandy Townsend opened the day’s singing with 52t; Steve Marini offered the opening prayer. Leaders: Dave Townsend361; Steve Marini 318; Ian West 32t; Ruth Steggles 33b; Bernard Collard 63; Steve Fletcher 40; Ken Baddley 479; Michael Walker 77t; Rachel Jordan 66; Richard Percival 178; Judy Whiting 212; James Percival 84; Phil Tyler 230; Helen Barber 547; Chris Brown 211; Sheila Girling Macadam 128; Nick Hall 569b; Cath Tyler 472.


The class resumed with Edwin Macadam leading 473. Leaders: Mick Verrier 163t; Linda Reed 433; Anna Baldini 217; Mandy Townsend 203; Steve Marini 245; Ian West 135; Ruth Steggles 209; Richard Percival 34b; Michael Walker 122.

Chaplain Ken Baddley called upon Bernard Collard to lead the Memorial lesson. Michael Walker read the names, and Bernard spoke on the theme “Death has set us free”, reading an extract from Christopher Leach’s Letter to a Younger Son. Sheila Girling Macadam led 163b in memory of Minja Lausevic, Hélène La Rue, Michael Clark, Robert L. Smith (Iowa), Richard Mauldin Snr (Alabama), John McDougall (Long Houghton, Northumberland), Kathy Dunn (Somerset), Edna Leonard (Bolton, Lancashire), Doris de Spain (Kentucky), Luciano Pavarotti (Modena, Italy), Allan Chapman (Norfolk), Wayland Carey, Yelena Hasselberg-Langley, Colin Kemp (Lancashire), Brain Walsh (London), B.J. Harris, Flarce Creel, Adam Grey (Newcastle upon Tyne), Harold Fox (Leicester), Harry Sharman (Brightlingsea, Essex), Ian McKay (Melbourne & Nantwich, Cheshire), Chris Jones (Nantwich, Cheshire), Linda Sheppherd (Totnes, Devon), Vera Ross (Hunstanton, Norfolk), Tony Gurr (Upminster, Essex), Carol Gardiner (London), Jane Tomlinson (West Yorkshire).

Steve Fletcher gave the Sick and Housebound lesson. Martin Williams read the names, and Steve spoke about the power of poetry and song to heal and comfort patients in palliative care and their families. Judy Whiting led 68b in honour of Amanda Denson (Alabama), Lonnie Roeels (Georgia), Emily’s Great-Gran, Mrs Mann (Haroldwood, Essex), Elisabeth Stern (Lewes, Sussex), Linda Rockey, James Oss (Indiana), Frank Fowler (Oxford), Gaenor Kyffin, Mel Browne, Edith Walden, Sylvia Law (Nottingham). The memorial was closed.

Ken Baddley invited us to celebrate with Mary, Adrian & Matthew Bolge on the occasion of Matthew’s first birthday; Gemma’s wedding and expected baby; Bernard and Anne Collard’s wedding; the safe arrival of Connie Baldini; Dafydd Charles’ 21st birthday; David & Betty Percival’s golden wedding; Emily’s Mum’s wedding; the imminent arrival of Sally Jones’ baby. Ken led 49t in celebration.

The singing resumed with Cath Tyler leading 490. Leaders: Dave Townsend 47t; Rachel Jordan 269; James Percival 36t; Linda Reed 83t; Chris Brown 503. Ken Baddley said grace before lunch.


During the lunch recess a meeting was held which agreed that, following two years in Marsden, West Yorkshire in 2008 and 2009, the Convention would thereafter move each year, the decision being made two years in advance. Cath Tyler volunteered to co-ordinate e-mail discussions on the selection of future locations.

The class was called to order by Phil Tyler leading 189. Leaders: Nick Hall 415; Helen Barber 410t; Edwin Macadam 236; Roz Walker 383; Adrian Bolge 370; Mick Verrier 272; Steve Fletcher 274t; Bernard Collard 535; Steve Marini 250; Ken Baddley 110; Mandy Townsend 480; Emily Verrier and Anna Baldini 146; Ian West 501; Ruth Steggles 200; Richard Percival 299; Michael Walker 48t; Sheila Girling Macadam 282; Judy Whiting 150.


The final session resumed with Rachel Jordan leading 82t. Leaders: Chris Brown 271t; Linda Reed 448b; Edwin Macadam 86; Helen Barber 276; Cath Tyler 278t; James Percival 474; Ian West 515; Phil Tyler 102; Adrian Bolge 491; Bernard Collard 149; Mick Verrier 201; Sheila Girling Macadam 117; Nick Hall 350; Steve Marini 228; Ken Baddley 192; Steve Fletcher, 312b.

Notices of forthcoming singings were given, committee reports made, the chairman offered thanks to all who had worked hard to ensure the success of the Convention, and the assembled company thanked the chairman for her leadership. Ken Baddley led the closing prayers, and Mandy and Dave Townsend and Judy Whiting and Chris Brown (chairpersons for 2008 and 2009) led 323t to close the Convention.

Over the two days, 148 songs were led by 30 leaders, of whom a pleasing number were new leaders. 58 singers registered for the weekend.

Chairman – Mandy Townsend; Vice Chairman– Dave Townsend; Secretary – Steve Fletcher.


This Web Site has been set up for the United Kingdom Sacred Harp and Shapenote Community to provide a resource centre for singing in the United Kingdom. 

Any correspondence, helpful suggestions and contributions as to content, amendments, additions and new web links should be sent to